Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)

Developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED, or Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design is a globally recognized symbol in green building.

  • Embodies a Triple Bottom Line Approach: “People, Plant, Profit”; The social (people), environment (plant), and economic (profit).
  • Certification ensures electricity cost savings, lower carbon emissions and overall healthier environments for the places we live, work, learn, and worship.

Let’s take a closer look at the LEED v4 rating systems strategies & credits, references guides and standards & references.

The LEED v4 Rating System is divided into 5 categories, accounting for a total of 21 market sector adaptations, spanning 145 countries:

  • LEED for Building Design and Construction             (LEED BD+C)
  • LEED for Homes                                                              (LEED Homes)
  • LEED for Interior Design and Construction              (LEED ID+C)
  • LEED for Building Operations and Maintenance    (LEED O+M)
  • LEED for Neighborhood Development                      (LEED ND)

(During rating system selection, utilize the square footage ’40/60 Rule’, (<40% – Do not select) (>60% – Select ), (40% – 60% – Project teams choice)

Application Strategies (Credits):

  • Location and Transportation (LT); (Ex. Quality Transit, Sensitive Land Protection)
  • Sustainable Sites (SS);   (Ex. Rainwater management – Light pollution reduction)
  • Water Efficiency (WE); (Ex. Building-Level Water Metering)
  • Energy and Atmosphere (EA); (Ex. Building-Level Energy Metering – Refrigerant Management – Demand Response – Renewable Energy Production)
  • Materials and Resources (MR); – (Ex. Recycling – Construction Waste Management)
  • Indoor Environmental Quality (EQ); – (Ex. Thermal Comfort – Air Quality – Lighting)
  • Innovation (IN); – (Ex. Exemplary Performance – Community Garden)
  • Regional Priority (RP);

Standards & References

  • ANSI/ASHRAE/IES Standard 90.1-2016 — Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings